Veteran’s Day- a Thank You

 

I’ve been privileged to spend this weekend in the company of friends and loved ones. And while spoiling myself, I’ve tried to keep in mind that these luxuries are because people I know and love have fought for them. 
 
With my grandparents being Veterans, and numerous other relatives besides, I was always aware of the holiday and made sure to phone every year and say thank you, even before I fully grasped what it meant. 
 
It gained a new level of reality for me when I realized that friends of mine, some at the time barely old enough to drink a beer, were decorated war veterans. One friend, Brian, is now overseas again, this time as a Chinook pilot. 
 
So simply put, thank you all for your service. And thank you to those families, who serve in their own way too.
Leave a Reply

